Beginning Malifaux! Angel Eyes and Crew

Scion of Black Blood, Angel Eyes, two Bloodwretches

After two decades of almost exclusively panting and playing GW stuff I was looking for a new miniature game experience. I knew I wanted a skirmish game – I wanted to paint different types of models, but not whole units of them – and I wanted something that wasn’t standard sci-fi or fantasy. When I stumbled across Malifaux on a hobbyist youtube channel I was immediately thrilled by the models. And after watching the excellent “Let’s play Malifaux” series by Guerilla Miniature Games I decided this was my game. On Salute 2017 I got the Starter Set and since then have been paining almost 20 models from the Guild, Neverborn, and Ten Thunders faction.

The above models from the Neverborn faction come with the Starter Set. Overall, solid pieces, fun and easy to paint, especially in comparison to the Guild models from the Starter Set which I will cover in the next post.

One thing I have learned since starting Malifaux is the difference between true scale and heroic scale. Malifaux models are true scale, so even though they are 32 mm scale and overall larger (taller) than GW models, the details (faces, hands, weapons) are smaller, in fact MUCH smaller.

Angel Eyes, Neverborn Henchman

This was the last Neverborn model I painted because it took me a while to decide on the color scheme. The artwork suggests black and grey “colors”, but painting elves and Eldar for half of my life I found it hard not to use at least one real color. In hindsight, I probably chose to go with green because having a Biel Tan Eldar army and a lot of experience painting green.

Anyway, apart from the face (eyes, eybrows!) which was a pain in the neck to paint everything else went smoothly. I covered the cloak with a thinned-down Dark Angels Green and black wash mix, drybrushed it and set a few highlights. Also, for the first time in my hobbyist career I used cork for the base. It’s a cheap and easy way to get more out of your models, to make them look more spectacular or to underline their character. So since she is a sniper model, I had her standing on an elevated position.

Scion of Black Blood, Neverborn Enforcer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Design-wise this is the model I like least; its posture is too statue-esque. The Scion is a Nephilim, some kind of demon, so I decided to go for a red skin tone. (Also, I just re-watched Hellboy.) The hardest parts were the horns and the shoes. Since there were not many details it took about two hours to paint the model.

Bloodwretches, Neverborn Minions

 

 

 

 

 

 

Painting the Bloodwretches took me only about two hours, and I found the result very satisfying. Just applying the base colors on the skin, shirt, and pants and going over it with brown and a black wash. As with the Scion, I added highlights to the skin very sparsely so it doesn’t look pink. 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Not been slacking since Salute I see! The contrast between the green cloaked sniper and the red skinned dudes works well together.

    Reply
  2. Thanks – yup, using the miniature painting momentum one could say. Let’s see how far it takes me.

    Reply

Leave a comment